CopyTools includes various different modes and options for copy operations, configuration via the Copy mode tab.
Setting the copy mode
Each profile has an overall copy mode which describes the basic action of the profile. Select a mode from the How do you want files and folders to be copied? field.
|Copy||A basic copy operation. New or modified files will be copied from the source locations to the destinations.|
|Mirror||A more advanced copy. In addition to copying new and modified files, any files or folders present in destination folders which do not exist in the source folder are removed.|
|Move||A basic move operation. New or modified files are copied from the source locations to the destinations, after which they are deleted from the source folders.|
|Compress||New or modified files are stored in a compressed ZIP archive. When using compressed copy modes, destinations refer to files rather than folders. If you do not specify a name, then the profile name will be used by default.|
Specifying how source folders are copied into the destination
The Source path append mode allows you to configure how the source path is merged into the destination. By default, no action is taken. However, for some scenarios you may want to include some or all of the source path in the destination path.
The contents of source folders are copied to the destination paths without modification.
|Append last directory||The last part of the source path is appended to the destination. For example, the source folder |
|Append entire path||The path component (excluding the drive) of the source is appended to the destination. For example, the source folder |
Using the recycle bin
When using mirrored copy modes, a destination files which no longer exists in source directories is automatically removed. By default, such files are permanently deleted, but you can optionally specify that these files are sent to the recycle bin instead by checking the Use recycle bin for deleted files option.
Always overwriting destination files
By default, CopyTools only copies files that match certain criteria - that they either don't exist at the destination, or that they are newer than the destination. However, for some profiles you may wish to skip such checks and always overwrite files. This can be done by checking the Always overwrite destination file option.
Setting advanced options
As well as the basic options offered in the copy mode tab, there are many additional more advanced options that can be set, such as copy flags, device options, compression levels and program execution. These options can be viewed and configured by clicking the Set advanced options link.
- About profiles
- Creating a new profile
- Editing an existing profile
- Deleting an existing profile
- Duplicating an existing profile
- Running a profile
- Previewing a profile
- Using the preview profile dialog
- Cancelling a profile run
- Cancelling all profile runs