Profile groups are containers for other groups, and provide a means of categorizing profiles.
About the All group
The first group listed in the group tab bar is always (All). This special group cannot be deleted or renamed and provides access to all profiles.
About the Default group
Any profile which doesn't hasn't been added to a group will appear to be in a group called Default. This is simply for categorizing purposes in the list.