Profile groups are containers for other groups, and provide a means of categorizing profiles.
The first group listed in the group tab bar is always (All). This special group cannot be deleted or renamed and provides access to all profiles.
Any profile which doesn't hasn't been added to a group will appear to be in a group called Default. This is simply for categorizing purposes in the list.